The other end

I felt uneasy about leaving the old man unattended but aside from his vacant stare, he looked and acted completely autonomous. I decided to leave him on his own for now.

There was a small house not far from here, one like another I had seen earlier today, several times in fact. It had to be the house that served as entrance to the cycling road.

2017-07-25_g1.gif

I entered the house, hoping they would be more lenient and allow me passage. I was wrong.

As soon as I made my way inside, the woman at the counter looked straight at me and asked me to get out of the building if I didn’t possess a bike.

Her tone was calm but harsh, leaving no room for argument, leaving me no option but to leave.

– Sorry, you can’t walk on cycling road. It’s too dangerous. Please leave now.

The words spelled out concern and kindness but her expression was about ready to slap me. This woman was angry at me. Maybe one too many trainers had tried to get past her.

I apologized, turned around and walked out of there as fast as I could without running. I had the feeling she might’ve jumped over the balcony and come after me if I started running.

It seemed I really needed to get a bike if I were ever to check out this cycling road.

2017-07-25_1

Leave a Reply

